(UPDATE : 2010.04.22)


Dear Colleagues

On behalf of the Japanese Society for Microcirculation, I would like to ask you to nominate a candidate researcher for The Nishimaru Award. Since the first award was sent to Professor Robert S. McCuskey in 1987, the Society awarded distinguished researchers who greatly contributed to advances of basic and clinical microvascular researches. List of the researchers awarded in previous World Congress are as follows:

  1. 4th World Congress in Tokyo
    Robert S McCuskey (Department of Anatomy, University of Arizona)
    Hepatic Microvascular heterogeneity and functional units
  2. 5th World Congress in Louisville
    Terence J Ryan (Department of Dermatology, The Slade Hospital, Oxford)
    Immunology and the vascular system
  3. 6th World Congress in Munich
    David H Lewis (University Hospital, Linkoping)
    Microcirculation in Europe: Is its future as promising as its past ?
  4. 7th World Congress in Sydney
    Konrad Messmer (Institute for Surgical Research, Klinikum Grosshardern, Munich)
    Microangiodynamics in hemodilution
  5. 8th World Congress in Milwaukee
    Daniel Neil Granger (Professor and Head, Department of Molecular & Cellular Physiology, LSU Health Sciences Center, Shreveport, Louisiana)
    Hepatic Leukostasis and Hypoxic Stress in Adhesion Molecule-ficient Mice after Gut Ischemia/Reperfusion

As you know, our society is characterized by a mixture of both basic and clinical microvascular researchers who are greatly interested in organ microcirculation. The Society has thus awarded distinguished scientists who revealed mechanistic views of regulatory mechanisms for organ microcirculation or cutting-edge application of the technologies, engineering and clinical interventions to microvascular researches.

Requirements for recruitment are as follows.

  1. Lists of publications (Check 10 important articles and send these reprints)
  2. A letter of recommendation by a microvascular researcher who can properly validate a quality of his or her works (free form).

Send these materials together with one electric file (either MS word or PDF is acceptable) through e-mail to js-micro@imic.or.jp no later than April 15, 2010 May 6, 2010.

Makoto Suematsu, MD, PhD
The Japanese Society for Microcirculation